2018 Reading Challenge

Standard

This year I decided to do a reading challenge to try and move some of the books from my TBR list to my Read list. I don’t even remember how I found this one, but it’s by MommyMannegren and I started it Jan. 1st right on time. I am almost done with the challenge and am struggling through the last 3. I have a “Bookstagram,” which is apparently a thing now, where I review all of the books I’ve read. I’m at 125 out of my yearly goal of 150, so I’m a little bit ahead of the 52 books in 52 weeks pace set for this challenge. Haha

52 Books in 52 Weeks

  • A book by a Canadian author – Oryx & Crake by Margaret Atwood *
  • A childhood favorite – Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll *****
  • A novel that is considered a classic – Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls ***
  • A mystery novel – The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney ***
  • A book you’ve been meaning to read, but haven’t gotten to – If I’m Found by Terri Blackstock ***
  • A science fiction novel – We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson *****
  • An adventure/espionage novel – The Alice Network by Kate Quinn ***
  • A biography – Night by Elie Wiesel *****
  • A book that challenges your viewpoint – Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult ***
  • The first book in a trilogy – Firelight by Sophie Jordan ***
  • A book with over 600 pages – Bag of Bones by Stephen King ****
  • A book you can read in a day – Road Rage by Richard Matheson, Joe Hill and Stephen King ***
  • A book that has won a Pulitzer Prize – The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson ***
  • Any book from the 2017 Goodreads Choice Awards –
  • A book that has been made into a movie – John Dies at the End by David Wong **
  • A book chosen solely by it’s cover – Openly Straight by Bill Konigsberg ***
  • A book on theology – The Zealot by Reza Aslan ****
  • A celebrity memoir – Neil Patrick Harris Choose Your Own Autobiography *
  • A book with a six word title – Hunger: A Memoir of My Body by Roxane Gay
  • A book set in a country you want to visit – Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie ****
  • A book that makes you laugh out loud – The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz
  • A book you read in school – The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger ***
  • A book with a green spine –
  • A book with a character that shares your name –
  • A book published in 2018 – Look For Me by Lisa Gardner *****
  • A book recommended by a friend – Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult *****
  • A book recommended by a librarian – Artemis by Andy Weir *****
  • A book written by an author under 30 – Whisper by Lynette Noni *****
  • A book written before 1920 – The Jungle by Upton Sinclair *****
  • A book that makes you cry – And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer by Fredrik Backman – *****
  • An e-book – Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky *****
  • A book with bad reviews – The Almost Moon by Alice Sebold ****
  • A YA Bestseller – Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman *****
  • A book set in Africa – Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo *****
  • A book by Agatha Christie – Murder on the Orient Express ***
  • A historical non-fiction book – The Blood of Emmett Till by Timothy B. Tyson *****
  • A book that inspires you – How to Be A Bawse by Lily Singh *****
  • A short story – Skellig by David Almond *****
  • A book that has been on the NY Times Best Seller List for more than 10 weeks – Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly *****
  • Political Book – When They Call You A Terrorist by Patrisse Khan-Cullors *****
  • A book by a Scandinavian author – Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman ****
  • A book with non-human characters – The Curse of Crow Hollow by Billy Coffey ***
  • A book about a topic you’re passionate about – A Thousand Naked Strangers by Kevin Hazzard *****
  • A book set in the Middle East – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini *****
  • A book already on your bookshelf – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Kaling ****
  • A book that was once banned – The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde ****
  • A book originally published in the year that you were born – The Talisman by Stephen King **
  • A book about travel – Everything Here is Beautiful by Mira T. Lee *****
  • A foreign book translated into English – The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho ****
  • A book with the letter ‘Y’ somewhere in the title – The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman ****
  • A book with food on the cover – Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty *****
  • A book about a current world issue – Not That Bad by Roxane Gay

I have my three remaining books picked out, I just need to get to them. The book with the green spine was hard to choose because I mostly read ebooks. That’s the easiest for me since I read so many and also that’s how I receive the majority of my ARCs. I chose The One and Only by Emily Giffin because it was the closest to green I had on my physical book shelf. It pretty meh reviews, so I haven’t been excited to read it.

For the 2017 Goodreads Awards, I chose Into the Water by Paula Hawkins. I’ve been excited to read this one, but I’ve been stuck on my next book and haven’t gotten to it yet.

For a book with a character who shares my name, I chose Ilium by Dan Simmons. A character in the book shares my dad’s exact first and last name so I went with that one. Ashlee is a pretty common name, so I did a search for my not so common last name thinking it may be more difficult. This book is a retelling of The Iliad, which I didn’t love…I didn’t realize that until I bought it. The author also uses a lot of big words, so I feel dumb when I’m reading it, but I will attempt to finish by the end of the year. All 570 pages of it.

Leave a comment